What To Do If You Have Been Charged With A Work Zone Violation

 Posted on January 03, 2014 in Criminal Defense

Each year in Illinois, there are more than 7,000 work zone violations, many of which lead to injuries and fatalities. Don’t assume that a work zone violation is a minor offense, since there are serious consequences if you are convicted. If you have been charged with violating the laws in a work zone, you need an attorney right away as your first step.

A new driving law for 2014 creates separate offenses for an individual who is speeding in a construction zone when workers are present and when workers are not present. Currently, this new law removes the license suspension penalty when workers are not present. When regular driving conditions have been altered as a result of construction, the lower speed limits are intended to give drivers more time to negotiate the changes. When the reduced speeds have been clearly posted at the work site and there are workers, a charged individual can face the higher work zone fines. Paying attention to posted signage is the best way to prevent speeding.

The fines for speeding in a work zone can put a major dent in your wallet. For a first time offense, you could find yourself writing a check for $375. Second offense? You’re looking at a minimum fine of $1,000. If your second offense happens within the two year period following your first offense, you could also be facing a driver’s license suspension. Take your case seriously- hiring an experienced criminal attorney is the first step you should take if you have been charged with a work zone violation. An experienced attorney can walk you through the steps of your case as well as gather evidence and any relevant details that could help your case. Don’t let a work zone violation destroy your driving record- contact an experienced Illinois criminal defense attorney today.

Share this post:
Back to Top