Aggressive Chicago Attorney Defends Clients Accused of Crimes

09-16-2018
Google Review
Google Review
M. K.
Good Attorney! Hal is a straight shooter with compassion and the experience needed to support a positive outcome.
09-12-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Othello B.
Started off as my attorney, now i look at him as family. In a time of need he was there for me, he gave me his word, and delivered. He is highly recommended by me
09-08-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Damian M.
Hal is a great lawyer. I got myself into a mess which resulted in a possible felony and jail time. I was recommended by a friend to him. I was skeptical and felt a lot like there was no hope for me but as soon as I met Hal and seen his level of professionalism and attention to details I had my confidence restored. In the end I avoided the felony and jail time, got some minor community service and a small fine. He is worth every penny and if I ever need any legal help in the future I would definitely come back to him. Highly recommend him for anyone facing serious legal issues, has well over 25+ years experience!
08-16-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Kim D.
I contacted Hal when I was in dire need of legal representation, and he was able to come through for me when I needed his help the most. Hal was able to negotiate immunity for me before I provided my testimony in a murder trial. He displayed his expertise, knowledge, and support throughout the entire time I worked with him, and hiring him allowed me to have an invaluable peace of mind as I provided my testimony. I would enthusiastically recommend Hal’s expertise to anyone who is in need of legal representation. He is an experienced criminal attorney who will allow you to have confidence regarding any legal situation that you need help navigating. Thank you, Hal!
08-13-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Ted N.
He's a fantastic attorney and counselor. He will actually listen to you. Give him a call.
08-09-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Juan C.
I got busted by CPD on some bogus case for an ounce of Heroin that wasnt even mine. My first lawyer got a plea from the State for 5 years and I was not happy with the deal. I fired him and hired attorney Hal Garfinkel. He told me he was not a plea lawyer and took the case to trial. We had a bench trial at the county and I was found not guilty. If you need a straight up hard fighting lawyer, contact Hal Garfinkel.
07-22-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Yaffa c.
I needed to hire a criminal lawyer for my friend's son who got arrested and I was given Mr. Garfinkel's name as a referral. Fantastic attorney. Smart, reasonably priced, and really listened.
07-10-2018
Google Review
Google Review
A. G.
I did not do anything illegal but the Feds wanted to charge me with stealing and all kinds of Fraud. I got in touch with lawyer Hal Garfinkel and he represented me during the entire investigation. He took me down to the US Attorney's Office and now they agreed not to charge me. Hal is an amazing federal lawyer. Hal, thank you so much. Now I can go live my life!
07-02-2018
Google Review
Google Review
A. G.
I seen Mr. Garfinkel on google cuz I did a google search for good Chicago criminal lawyers. I got in trouble when my girl and me got into it and we both hitting on each other and then I was arrested for a domestic. The state picked up my case and Hal said he could get me out of this. We wouldn't take no deal and after a jury trial, the jury agreed with us and I was NOT GUILTY of all charges.
06-29-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Helen O.
Attorney Garfinkel was referred to me by a co worker who had used him a couple years ago for a criminal issue she was having and told me I should call him also. A couple federal agents showed up at my work place and told me I was under investigation for Fraud by the U.S. Attorneys Office in Chicago. I called Hal and we met at his office to discuss the problem. Hal brought me into the U.S. Attorney's Office and negotiated immunity on my behalf. When the case was over, I did not have charges against me and I did not have to testify in court. Hal Garfinkel is a fantastic federal lawyer. I highly recommend him if you are having problems with the Feds.
06-28-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Marco P.
I hired attorney Hal Garfinkel to fight a gun case for me. I went to his office with my Uncle and we told him how they found a gun in my car. We just finished a bench trial and Hal told the judge all the mistakes and he through out all the evidence and I was found not guilty of a UUW by Felon. Legit, he did what he said he would do. Great Job Hal.
06-25-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Lauren G.
I hired Hal to take care of a Felony Retail Theft case. One court date, the case was reduced from a felony to a petty charge. All worked out and I am able to keep my RN license. Hal, I cannot thank you enough and no doubt, would recommend you to any family or friends who are in need of a criminal defense lawyer.
06-10-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Marquita C.
Mr. Hal helped out my brother with a burglary case and got it broken down to a simple Theft and he got a deferred prosecution and now we can expungment the case. Awesome. Would always recommend my friends, family, and workers to Hal Garfinkel. Great attorney, good pricing, listened to our family. No complaints!!
06-07-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Lorenzo B.
My baby's mama used Hal for a gun case a couple years ago in Chicago and had kick ass results. I just got arrested for a gun about a year ago and hired Hal to fight for me. The case just got beat at 26th and California on a Motion. Hal, you the man. Thank You!!
05-15-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Yesenia G.
I was arrested and got charged with Felony Retail Theft at Woodfield Mall for allegedly taking a couple pairs of sunglasses from Sunglass Hut. It was totally unfair and the cop had no business cuffing and charging me. I got in touch with attorney Hal and he got the felony broken down to a misdemeanor and I had to go to some classes and the State dropped the case. Now I can expunge this. Thank you Mr. Garfinkel. I will tell my friends about you should they ever need your services. :) YG
05-10-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Ramirez J.
Great Attorney. Listened to me before shooting me a fee. I got arrested in Chicago and had to fight my case in Skokie, a drug case. He legit did what he said he would do. He knew prosecutors in the room and I got an Aggravated Battery broken down to a simple battery and i got supervision. His fee was cool and I couldnt ask for a better outcome.
05-09-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Mariusz P.
I was falsely arrested by Rosemont Police Officers for drugs and charged with a felony Manufacturing and Delivery charge. I was referred to Mr. Garfinkel by a close friend who said he is a good attorney. The case went to Rolling Meadows courthouse and Hal got the felony dropped down to a misdemeanor and now I don't have a felony on my record. I will always recommend Hal to any friends or family who need a lawyer who will fight for your rights!!!!
05-08-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Marla G.
I hired attorney Garfinkel to fight a gun case at 26th/California for my boyfriend. He was facing 7 years in Illinois Department of Corrections He got the case dismissed after the judge agreed that the cops searched his car without probable cause. This is the guy to hire if you are in a jam.
05-08-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Etta P.
My Uncle was under federal investigation for Wire and Bank Fraud. We had no idea what to do or who to turn to. A friend of my sister's told me to contact Hal Garfinkel and within a short time, we had an appointment in his office and my family explained the entire situation to him. Within a weeks time, Hal contacted the Assistant U.S. Attorney conducting the investigation. Two weeks after than, Hal went to the U.S. Attorney's Office in the loop and gave the federal prosecutors several documents which explained what was going on with our bank and our family business. We recently received word that the investigation is closed and my Uncle is no longer a target. Hal, thank you so much for all your help!!!!
05-07-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Dan K.
Very knowledgeable, helped us a lot in very complicated federal fraud case. Professional and on point highly recommend.
04-19-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Patrick N.
After researching several attorneys I reached out to Hal regarding my first offense case. I am very happy that I went with Hal and with the results of my case. He is a very professional, considerate and helpful attorney. I highly recommend Hal's services if you are in need of an attorney.
04-19-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Alex C.
Hal Garfinkel exceeded all expectations and did an excellent job communicating all aspects of the case needed to be known without articulating in a way that would confuse a layperson. Everything was handled quickly and in the most effective way. I recommend him highly.
04-01-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Annette G.
Lawyer Hal is the reason I am walking free today. He helped me through a case where I was completely innocent and was being charged with a case with a felony for up to 10-14 years. He is the reason I am able to breath peacefully again. He comes out with perspectives that the case didn’t even see. He picked up on the slighted glitch in stories from the opposing side and made sure he said what was needed to make me the innocent woman I am. Hal has a tough way of cutting through the nonsense and getting to what is important. I am forever thankful for him and his work to support me. I recommend Hal as a lawyer and as a good team mate. He will work with you and make sure you win.
02-01-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Katerina S.
My family was in urgent need of a criminal defense lawyer since my younger brother was facing a felony charge for making false statements that threatened the public safety. Mr. Garfinkel was referred by a friend, and hiring him was the best decision my family made. The court process was long and stressful, however Mr. Garfinkel was very friendly, caring, and answered all of our questions. His experience, knowledge, and determination to resolve my brother’s case were beyond impressive. He was able to negotiate with the prosecutors a great deal that reduced the original charge to a petty offense with probation. My brother’s future is bright again and he is able to continue living a normal life. My family will be forever grateful to Mr. Garfinkel!
01-01-2018
Google Review
Google Review
Eric B.
Mr. Garfinkel took time to meet with me the day I reached out to him. In both our phone call and in person, Mr. Garfinkel was erudite, calming, and thorough. I highly recommend Mr. Garfinkel if you are ever in need of an attorney.
11-17-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Neel N.
The case got dismissed. He is accessible all the time and responds to the questions very quickly. Attorney Hal is very experienced and knowledgeable . He guided me throughout my case past one year. I got my visa back. I would suggest this attorney to hire for your case.
11-17-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Marshall M.
The DEA contacted me at my work address and said they needed to speak to me about a matter involving drugs and guns. I told them I have no idea what they were speaking about and 5 months later, DEA executed a search warrant at my residence. The U.S. Attorneys office ultimately charged me for drugs that did not belong to me. I got Hal's name from a friend of mine and he met me at my home. I was freaked out. Hal told me to relax and that he would take care of everything. The case was filed in Chicago. Hal got me an I Bond from the magistrate and the case went to trial about a year later. Thankfully, Hal was successful and I was acquitted of all charges. Hopefully, you will never need a federal criminal defense lawyer, but if you do, without doubt, contact the Law Offices of Hal Garfinkel
11-12-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Lashonda S.
I hired Hal for a drug case at 26/California Blvd. in Chicago. I was facing 12 years on a Conspiracy charge and I did not know what to do. A friend of mine suggested I contact Hal and I am so glad I did. I went with my boyfriend on a Sunday and Hal really listened to me. He told me that he could not promise me anything other than he would fight his hardest for me. To make a long story short, we filed a Motion to Suppress the drugs and the judge tossed the drugs. The State dropped the case and today I am a free woman because of Hal. Hopefully, you will never need a criminal defense attorney, but if you do, trust me and contact attorney, Hal Garfinkel.
11-12-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Credit C.
My Husband was the target of a Federal Investigation involving the FBI in Chicago and the Inspector General's Office as it related to our credit business. I researched and interviewed several federal criminal defense attorney's in Chicago and I chose attorney Hal Garfinkel. Hal told me from the beginning that he would not negotiate with the U.S. Attorney's Office in Chicago unless they gave us full immunity. I trusted Hal's advice and we went in and spoke to the Feds. Amazingly, after giving a three hour proffer, I was fully exhonerated and I was released without any charges.
09-07-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Inside S.
My Sexual Assault Case Was Closed! Two Years ago while studying at a top Chicago University I was accused of a sexual assault by a fellow student. My heart sank as I was faced with the possibility to being labeled a sex offender. Believing in my innocents and Having done nothing wrong, I thought I could handle this situation on my own. This was a big mistake! (Clearly Ive missed a couple of episodes of Law and Order). I was harassed constantly by the attending administration, her friends and Law Enforcement. I had no idea where to turn to, I was alone and afraid. After speaking with some legal advocates I was directed to the law offices of Hal Garfinkel. I scheduled a consultation, informed him that I was a Veteran and went into Full, Honest, Detail about the case. He reassured me that everything would be alright and within a month, my case was closed. Im a person that learns from watching the mistakes of others. If this review does anything, I hope that It will serve as an anchor for those seeking an advocate. Please don't wait as long as I have! Pick up the phone and schedule a consultation. Without legal representation, people will take advantage of your positioning and ignorance of the law.
09-01-2017
Google Review
Google Review
latonya w.
My dad has never had in encounter with the law and to say my family and I was devasted is understatement. Hal was an excellent attorney with supherb legal skills. His turn around time was excellent. He worked deligently on my dad's case and it was very much appreciated. He gave us his word and stayed true to everything he promised. If he says he will call you back a specific time, that is exactlly what occurred. I will admit he has a way with words, but that should be expected from any good attoroney. I would definitely recommend him for any crimal case.
08-01-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Elizabeth K.
He is very professional and knowledge. He helped us get through very challenging times. I would recommend him to anyone. Thank you.
08-01-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Toya P.
I found Hal Garfinkel through google search. I called him that night and was able to have a consultation over the phone. He was at a game for his kids and took the time to talk to me. During our meeting in his downtown office weeks before the case, he was very upfront and honest with what I was facing and what he could do. My case involved a multiple car accident and I was charged as the person in fault of the crash. We went to court on 2 separate occasions and I was so nervous of the outcome. He reassured me of what he could do. 2 days ago we had our final court date and my case was completely dismissed and I didn't even have to pay a court fee for a ticket I had. I'm forever grateful because this case could've been a bad outcome financially as well as professionally for me if found guilty. If you need a excellent lawyer, Hall is worth every dime. Hopefully, I will never need him again but I will recommend him to anyone. He pays attention to detail and listens.
07-29-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Jadana T.
Hal is wonderful to work with. He took the time (extra time) to explain all legal jargon, details of my case, as well as my options. Hal was easily reachable and respond promptly to all my questions, concerns, and needs. Not only was he friendly but very experienced and knowledgeable. In the end he did EXTREMELY well by me. He saved me TONS of money, and negotiated the best possible outcome that I could hope for. I would definitely seek his servicies again, but hopefully will not find the need. It was comforting to know I had such quality representation working on behalf.
07-20-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Kidd A.
Hal Garfinkel has been a life changer to my family, Not once or twice but three times. I didn't need to worry when my money got low because he worked with me. He never stop his rigorous approach. He is serious about his work and have much compassion. Hal and his connection saved my daughter from many years of prison time. THANK YOU
07-18-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Mike M.
Harold has been extremely helpful and caring. He has helped me through my situation, and was able to keep things calm all the way through. He is ultra confident and is an expert within the subject matter. If you are in need of help, seek it from someone who actually cares and is really good at their job. Harold is the ONLY guy out there that you need to go with.
02-17-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Vesi M.
Hal was very hands on since the first phone conversation we had. He answered right away and explained what we were dealing with. He knew it would be a hard case but he promised to put all of his energy into it. I was charged with two felonies and he was able to get me deferred prosecution. The case was definitely not an easy one and it took longer than we expected but Hal was able to present me to the court in an amazing, well written way that showed who I really am as a person. It allowed the court to see that I simply made a mistake and that I am not actually a criminal. Hal is always only a call or text away. No matter how busy he is, he makes sure he is easily reachable by his clients. If you're looking for an outstanding lawyer who is passionate about his job and keeps his word, Hal is the way to go.
01-24-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Fry
I was arrested and charged with a 5 kilo case of powder cocaine and possession of 4 handguns. I originally hired an attorney recommended to me by one of my buddies. After two years of legal representation, this attorney was only able to negotiate 9 years in the penitentiary. There was no way I was going to the pen for 9 years. I fired this lawyer after paying him $10,000 and hired HAL GARFINKEL. He took my case to a jury trial and beat it in 5 hours. This attorney is off the hook good. Trust me, if you get in a legal jam, he's the guy you want. Thankfully, I hired Hal and now I have my life back and I have my freedom. Thank you, Hal. I will recommend you to all my gangsta friends.
01-24-2017
Google Review
Google Review
Shana
This lawyer is the bomb. My man was arrested for a bogus Federal credit card scam and he was looking at 120 months in a Federal Institution. I asked around and located Mr. Garfinkel. We worked out a deal with the Feds. My boyfriend was released without charges. I would highly recommend attorney Hal Garfinkel if you need an aggressive, smart, kick-ass lawyer to cover your back.
11-20-2016
Google Review
Google Review
Brian G.
Hal is a great attorney. He was always available to answer questions or to be the calm voice I needed to hear. He was very professional and you could tell he knew his way around in a court of law. I would highly recommend Mr Garfinkle if the need arises. 5 stars all the way. Thanks Hal.
09-07-2016
Google Review
Google Review
Luis M.
Hal Garfinkel is one of the best attorneys in the City of Chicago he has helped me through my cases from start to finish. If you need someone who can think outside the box and can give you the best legal advice and options for your case this is the guy to see.
07-07-2016
Google Review
Google Review
Jasmine W.
AMAZING ATTORNEY!!!! I can't explain how thankful and lucky I was to have attorney Hal Garfinkel represent me in court. He made it his priority to not only vacate my warrant for arrest, but completely dismiss my case of THREE traffic chargers from 4 years ago altogether. I was confused, worried and in a nerve wrecking situation and Hal handled my case with nothing short of professionalism. I spoke with several attorneys prior to speaking with Hal, and he was the only attorney that acted upon every word he said to me. A man of his word. All I had to do was trust him. I can honestly say he is a life saver and he is my attorney for life. I would recommend him to ANYONE. He's an extremely busy attorney but with just a little patience it was MORE than worth it. I am so thankful and would have waited weeks for him to represent me in ANY case. Truly a blessing. I can't stress that enough. Thank you so much Hal!!!
06-11-2016
Google Review
Google Review
Omar C.
I was lucky to have Hal referred to me by a friend. I gave him a call he personally answered and immediately started looking into my case. I got a dui in April of 2016. All the odds were against me but Hal looked at me in the eye said he was going to fight for me and he did by my second court date he was successful in rescinding my statutory summary suspension. I defiantly recommend Hal to be by your side in the court room. He does not give up and is very intelligent, aggressive and passionate about what he does.
04-27-2016
Google Review
Google Review
Jon Y.
I've been fighting a drug and gun case at 26th and Cal for the last year and a half. The State first offered me 12 years and I told Hal I was not interested. Hal put on a Motion to Suppress the guns and we won. All that was left was 2 kilos of powder cocaine. We went to jury trial last week. Hal destroyed the Chicago Police Officer who testified. The jury was out for three hours and came back with A NOT GUILTY. I cannot say enough about this lawyer, he is amazing. Hal, my family and I owe you my life. Thank you again for all your hard work and commitment to my case. Hopefully, I will never need you again but if I get in trouble, you are the only lawyer I will ever use.
04-17-2016
Google Review
Google Review
Gabor O.
I was under investigation by the FBI for a crime I did not commit. I was at a loss as to how to go forward. A friend of mine suggested I contact Hal Garfinkel. From the moment I met him, I felt relaxed and safe. He walked me through the entire process from start to finish. While he made no promises or guarantees, he promised me he would fight and continue fighting until the truth came out. In the end, I was cleared of all charges. I have my name and reputation back and I owe it all to Hal. If you are charged or under investigation, I highly suggest you contact Hal.
04-13-2016
Google Review
Google Review
Tammy G.
My son had a very difficult case that involved domestic battery; DUI and driving on revoked and was looking at some serious lock up time not to mention a state’s attorney’s office that seemed to want to set an example with my son’s life. We called Mr. Garfinkel and I was impressed with his straight forward, to the point and honest attitude. He looked into things and told us his plan. The situation was very complicated due to the states attorney dragging things out for a year, and Mr. Garfinkel never gave up he is a very determined lawyer and delivers what he says. My son’s case went to trial and watching Mr. Garfinkel in action is an amazing sight, it’s like watching a master at his profession and very impressive. Mr. Garfinkel won the case in one of the most difficult counties in the Chicago area and I can understand why they never stood a chance once it was his turn. My son is at home with his family and will tell you he will forever be indebted to Mr. Garfinkel for finding the proof that he should not go to prison. I as the mother of the defendant will never be able to thank Mr. Garfinkel enough for saving my only son from a horrible situation. I would recommend Mr. Garfinkel without hesitation and he will always be our family lawyer. Results you can count on and the professionalism, devotion to the client, and the skill and integrity that is not easily found today. Do not hesitate for one second if you want the best because you have found it.
02-17-2016
Google Review
Google Review
Chris S.
Back in November I wrote a review (please see below) on how great of a job Mr. Hal Garfinkel did on helping rescind my summary of suspension to receive my drivers license back. Just when I thought I witnessed a defense attorney at his best, I did not. I recently had my DUI trial take place, when I caught site of all the witnesses the state prosecutors were able to get to attend the trial, I thought I was done, did not think I had a chance to come out victorious on this case. I was wrong, Hal would not go down without a fight and I when say this I’m DEAD SERIOUS! His knowledge of the law is unbelievable; his cross examinations on the arresting officers and civilian witnesses is incredible. State prosecutors did not know what hit them; words can’t describe how aggressive Hal is when the doors close in a court room, because of Hal I am now able to return to my normal life and not have to worry about having a DUI on my record. As I mentioned in my previous review, Hal was the right attorney to hire. I called the individual that referenced Mr. Hal Garfinkel to me and thanked him for such a great recommendation. Hal is dependable, determined, and last but not least he is the best of THE BEST! To anyone in need of a criminal defense lawyer, please look no more, HAL GARFINKEL IS YOUR GUY!! Thank you for your dedication Hal!!
02-05-2016
Google Review
Google Review
Twinkle L.
Garfinkel is the best and I do mean the best passionate, loyal, understanding, hard-working, determined, connected let me empathize on connected (he knows everyone he has unlimited Connections) on point attorney I have ever came across! My husband was facing 180 days jail time mandatory for driving with revoked license and Garfinkel had him walk away without serving one day in jail no community service no nothing!! this lawyer is the best!!! If you're looking for a hard-working determined guaranteed lawyer hired Hal Garfinkel!!!
11-19-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Deserockone12345 D.
Hi my name is hoon and i got caught driveing on suspended and revolked dl ,and it was my fourth time! Hal is the man hey got me out of the mess.after he had a conference with the judge And the states attorney in the back of the court room he came out with a smile and i knew the case was beat.highly recommend this guy!!!!
11-02-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Randy D.
I was looking for a criminal lawyer for a white collar charge. I interviewed seven criminal attorneys and all of them followed the same pattern of telling me and my wife they could help me but not one of them gave me an idea of how or laid out a plan. But they had a price that seemed to be the main focus of those I met. I was recommended to contact Hal Garfinkel. He was completely different from the other attorneys I met. He was honest, direct and reviewed everything and listened. I could see that he understood the situation and had the experience and a plan. The prosecutor wanted to send me to jail for up to 6 years for a something that should of never even been a felony. The state had no interest about the truth; the focus was about punishment and getting a win. Until you are faced with the justice system first hand, you cannot truly understand how poorly and unfairly it actually works. Hal not only understands the way the system works on both sides first hand. Hal Garfinkel fought for my family and me and refused to accept the prosecutors attempt to put me in jail. His ability to take apart the Federal prosecutors action plan and fight for me like a bull-dog, removed jail time and I received 16 months probation. Hal Garfinkel did not judge me at any point. He understands the seriousness of the situation and did everything to protect my family and me. He cared and refused to allow the federal prosecutors to take my life away. The justice system is not always fair so you need a lawyer that understands the system and will truly fight for you and your rights. You MUST find a good lawyer because this can be your life. Reach out to Hal Garfinkel. I am lucky that I did as my family and I get to continue live our life’s together and have a future.
10-20-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Dennis P.
I had to find a criminal lawyer due to an unfortunate situation. I interviewed at least five high profile attorneys and all of them said they could help but none of them gave me a plan, just a price. Then I met Hal Garfinkel. He was different. He was honest, direct and reviewed everything and listened. The prosecutor wanted to send me to jail for 6 years for a felony that was a virtual crime and not a hands on crime (Internet). The state interest was not about the truth, it was about punishment. Until you are faced with the justice system first hand, you will not understand how it truly works. Hal understands the system from both sides first hand. Hal refused to accept the prosecutors attempt to put me in jail and like a bull-dog fought and in the end I received 24 months probation and not a day in jail. Hal did not judge me even though I was stupid and did something that was not intentional but was a felony. But Hal understood the seriousness of the situation, but did everything to protect me and my family. He cared and refused to allow the state to take my life away.The justice system is not always fair so you need a lawyer that understands the system and will truly fight for you and your rights. Shop around for a good lawyer because this can be your life. Then call Hal Garfinkel. I am lucky that I did as my family and I get to continue living.
09-19-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Andrew M.
Was referred through a mutual acquaintance and left a voicemail one morning, which Hal returned promptly that day. After discussing details, he ran me through the murky legal process, clearly illustrated a plan to remedy the matter, and represented me professionally in court. He worked efficiently, delivered exactly as promised, and I would recommend his services to anyone in need of quality legal counsel.
08-16-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Andy R.
I had a situation of dealing with a felony battery charge that truly was not at all what the state prosecution claimed as well as I was dealing with someone who had clout. While I had some responsibility for what happened, I was not the provoker nor did I start anything. Unfortunately I was dealing with a prosecutor that wanted to throw the book at me. I spoke with a handful of attorneys that said they could help but gave me little idea of how or wanted to know more about me and the situation. The only attorney that asked me at my first meeting not just what happened but about me, my family, my history, etc. was Hal Garfinkel. He was straight forward, honest and worked with me on an action plan to fight. In court he fought for me and my family and refused to allow the state prosecutor to create a picture of who I am not nor what happened. While I had a responsibility for my actions, Mr. Garfinkel actions had the felony moved down to a misdemeanor and he saved my life. Even after it was all over he reached out to me to just see how I am doing. It was not necessary, but it showed it wasn't just a job, he really cares about his clients well being. I can say without reserve, if you have a situation where you need a highly skilled attorney that understands the legal system when all odds seem against you. Call Mr Garfinkel. I was so glad I found him otherwise I would not be with my family and having a future.
08-11-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Dennis P.
I had the unfortunate need for a criminal lawyer. I interviewed at least five high profile attorneys and all of them said they could help but none of them gave me a plan, just a price. Then I met Hal Garfinkel. He was different. He was honest, direct and reviewed everything and listened. The prosecutor pushed for jail for 6 years for a felony that was a virtual crime and not a hands on crime (Internet). Hal did not judge me even though I was stupid and did something unintentional. Hal did everything to protect me and my family. I am not in jail because of Hal fighting for me.
07-30-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Janet K.
My husband was charged with possession of narcotics. It was not a significant amount, but the law made it as if he was a kingpin and they wanted to throw the book at him and send him to prison.This was embarrassing to discuss, but a friend of mine suggested Mr. Garfinkel after I told her I spoke with some criminal attorneys that were fair to poor at best and we felt like we were just another client with a dollar sign on our heads every time we interviewed an attorney to hire. When I met with Mr. Garfinkel I was expecting the same, I was wrong and we were very lucky to be put in touch with him.While I have never dealt with the criminal system before, I was shocked at the truth and horror of how it works. Mr. Garfinkel reviewed our case, facts as well as everything to expect with my husband and I. He also walked us through how he plans to defend my husband from beginning to end.My husband was looking at the real potential for up to five years in prison. We were scarred and lost. I would never believe a criminal lawyer would fight so hard for us and our future, but Mr. Garfinkel honestly cared about my husband and my family.In the end, Mr. Garfinkel kept my husband out of jail and got my husband probation. He saved our lives. If my friend did not point me to Hal, I am not sure where we would be currently. I can say if it was not for Mr. Garfinkel's skills, understanding of the system, fight and genuine care to win...our lives would have been destroyed.
07-23-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Charlotte W.
When I needed to find an attorney for my brother, Hal was the first person to not only listen to situation, but also provide a plan of action. He was open and honest about the options available in our situation, and he kept me informed throughout the entire process. I would highly recommend Hal to anyone in need of a criminal lawyer in Chicago.
07-05-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Kat A.
My husband was charged with felony speeding in a construction zone. Hal Garfinkel exceeded my expectations in Joliet, IL. With his representation, He was able to have a felony speeding in a construction zone reduced to a petty misdemeanor. Had he not had his representation, his career and family would have greatly suffered. I was especially impressed by how he was able to professionally and accurately resolve my husbands case. I would highly recommend Hal to any of my friends and would not hesitate to retain his services should they be required in the future.
06-16-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Alex S.
Hal Garfinkel is fantastic! He's very well connected and will work with you to figure out the best solution. Hal has a lot of bluster (and I mean that in a good way) and he put me a ease from the moment I went to first speak to him. He put me at ease and told me that my case would be dismissed. Through the entire process, I could tell that Hal cared for me as a person and I felt his attention. He's expensive, but he's worth every penny you spend. He's extremely well known and well respected. He got me in touch with references and with other lawyers who can vouch for him. Hopefully, I'll never have legal issues again, but if I do, I know Hal is the person I'll call.
06-16-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Anson M.
Was wary from all the great reviews at first...too good to be true was my initial stance. But immediately from first contact, I knew Hal was the real deal. Immediate empathy and knew what to do in order to ensure a successful resolution. He was responsive and courteous the entire time and provided me with confidence given his experience and how to position the arguments for success. He overcame strong opposition from the prosecutor and policeman in the courtroom. Can't thank Hal enough. Would recommend him to anyone... Don't look any further, this is your guy!
06-13-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Jon K.
I was charged with a Class 2 felony burglary. Drunkenly, I stole a GPS out of a car one night. (SO DUMB) Because of the value of the property, a felony was the correct charge but still, come on. I retained Hal to defend me and I couldn't have been happier with the outcome. I was 26 years old, college graduate, had my whole life ahead of me and was facing a felony charge that if convicted, would have ruined my life. Not only was my record going to be blemished for life, but I was looking at some serious jail time. I met Hal at his office to review my options. Right then and there, I could see how thorough he was. Asking me questions about the crime, my background, etc. Things I hadn't thought of in years but ultimately saw how they affected the case. My case went back and forth for quite some time, about a year and a half. Which wasn't Hal's fault, the wheels of justice grind slooooowwwlly. During that time, Hal fought hard and exhausted EVERY option to dispose of my case before trial. He filed countless motions, bargained with the SA office, I could go on and on.... Finally before my case was set to go to trial, Hal was able to obtain a plea bargain that included TASC probation. This type of deal is NOT given out for burglary charges. It is typically reserved for first time drug offenses. In case your not familiar with TASC, It's a type of probation in which a plea of guilt is entered, you meet the terms of probation (fines, court costs, treatment, etc) and once the probation has been competed successfully, you can have the judgment VACATED! Which means there is no longer a conviction for that crime. Then, if your record allows you can have it expunged!!!!! There is a good chance that had I gone to trial, I could have been convicted. Hal advised me to no take any other plea the SA was offering me. Also, not to go to trial and continue to fight. I followed along and did as I was told and Whala! Hal tirelessly fought for the BEST outcome for me and I will forever be grateful. A couple takeaways here: Hal works really hard on your case... evenings, weekends, takes phone calls all the time, etc. He is SO thorough, when he asks you questions or asks for information, it may seem nit-picky but trust me, just get it or give it to him. He doesn't talk to you like you're another lawyer. He explains your situation and the law in a way that non-lawyers understand. Finally, I hate to say it but with lawyers... It's often more about WHO than WHAT you know.... Hal has worked side by side with current judges, states attorneys, etc. His connections are INVALUABLE.Oh yeah, I don't have a Felony on my record! :)
05-09-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Kevin S.
About a month ago I was clocked doing a 101 in a 55 by a state trooper. Needless to say my driving record has many speeding tickets. I immediately knew I needed the best lawyer in Chicago. I Googled exactly that and the first name that popped up was Hal Garfinkel. I called Hal on a Sunday thinking I would get an answering machine and instead I got him on the phone. He asked me a few questions told me what I needed to do and even went as far as to tell me about AVVO and look up his reviews. After reading the first few reviews I was sold. I would recommend this lawyer to anyone no matter what the offense. He is very knowledgeable and knows a lot of people in the court system. At the first court date when Hal wasn't getting the deal he knew I could get, he asked for a continuance in front of a different judge. He wasn't going to take no for an answer and he told me getting my license suspended or revoked was not an option. At the second court date he kept true to his word and my Class A Misdemeanor speeding got dropped to a petty offense with a minimal fine and no suspension or revocation of my license whatsoever. I could see the states attorney shaking their head as Hal was talking to him about my case and Hal would not stop negotiating until he got the answer he wanted. Hal will fight tooth and nail for you and make sure that in the end you get what you deserve. He knows things happen and tries to understand your situation. I will never look for another attorney and Hal Garfinkel will stay a contact in my phone until he retires.
04-16-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Dave A.
Hal Garfinkel will fight for you when you don't have any fight left in yourself. Hal's expertise, knowledge of the law, and tenacity is second to none. His belief in you as a human being first and a client second is unheard of. I've used Hal's Garfinkel's services twice and would recommend his services to anyone.
04-16-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Joanna A.
I recently was issued a speeding ticket but I wasn't aware of the severity of the offense. It wasn't just a speeding ticket; it was considered aggravated which may lead to a criminal conviction. I was in jeopardy of having my driver license suspended as well. I shopped around for advice and possible outcomes. When I first spoke to Hal he assured me that I would not lose my driver license if he handled my case. He also assured me that this charge will not result in a conviction. His knowledge of the law and connections within the system is definitely original and unlike others. Hal fought hard within the court room to have my charge reduced to a petty offense. I was able to leave the building with my license returned and placed on supervision. I am truly grateful for Hal's services. He is the lawyer you need for ANY charges you may face. Do not hesitate to call; he will not quit fighting for you!
04-13-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Calvin L.
The FBI came to my house and arrested me and the U.S. Attorneys Office charged me with Wire and Bank Fraud. I was totally innocent and I was terrified. I spoke with several attorneys and ultimately decided to hire Hal Garfinkel. He was terrific. He cared about me and my family but not the way you would think a lawyer normally would. He called me weekly and if I was nervous or just needed to speak, Hal was there for me and my wife. I had heard horror stories about what happens to a person when he is arrested by the FBI. Thankfully, my case worked out. Hal filed several pre-trial motions and the case was dismissed. I could not believe it. Now, I have my job back but more importantly, I have my reputation back as well. Hal, you are truly an Angel. I will never forget what you did for me and I strongly recommend you contact Hal if you are the subject of a federal white collar investigation.
03-02-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Elan B.
CPD came to my house without a warrant and found some bogus guns and drugs in my house. I was later charged with a Super Class X Narcotics Trafficking Case. I was facing 12-60 years in jail. My friend recommended attorney Hal Garfinkel. We interviewed a number of well known Chicago criminal defense attorneys but thankfully we chose Hal. From the start of my case, he fought so hard for my freedom. Mr. Garfinkel explained to me the risks of going to trial rather than accepting a plea agreement. Hal said there were no guarantees if we went to trial but he told me to trust him. We had a jury trial at 26 and California and the jury found me Not Guilty in less than an hour. Hal, I cannot thank you enough for believing in me and fighting so hard for my freedom. If you are charged with a serious drug case, call Hal Garfinkel. He will fight for you and do everything in his power to protect your freedom.
03-02-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Alejandra M.
My husband and I just finished a 1.5 year relationship with Hal on a case that truly never should have become a case. The state was intent on sending my husband to jail for an accident on his part, which caused harm and danger to precisely zero people or places. Extremely serious consequences, and our lives hung in the balance. The charges were ludicrous, and Hal had no problem yelling about how ridiculous the charges were to whoever needed to hear it. Hal is aggressive, and he's very confident. These are insanely important in a courtroom-- to think on your feet and have a comeback on the tip of your tongue when the judge or prosecution throws a curve ball. Or an insane accusation. I didn't understand the importance of these traits until we sat in court room after courtroom watching other attorneys fumble on their words, file improper paperwork, or annoy the judge with teir incompetence. Hal clearly always knew what he was doing. Hal has been in the business for foreeevvveerrrr and his history and experience allowed us to have a lawyer who has worked with most of the people we met. We're grateful for the insight he could offer. He warned us on day 1 that the insanity of the charges meant our battle would probably be long and drawn out and involve a bunch of judicial paperwork and bull. How right he was! While we may have sometimes felt frazzled by his fast pace, or confused by his legal terms, at the end of the day, Hal wins. Instead of prison and felony backgrounds following us around for the rest of our lives, we are completely free to live out the dreams we made 1.6 years ago, before we ever got slapped in the face and treated like the "bad guy".
02-23-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Sarah J.
My husband got two tickets - one for aggravated speeding and one for driving on a revoked license. Hal used his expertise and his many connections in the Cook County Court system to completely dismiss the revoked license ticket and reduce the aggravated speeding ticket to a petty fine of $100. Hal made himself available 24 hours a day, and gave us a quick turnaround between our first conversation and my husband's court date. When the court date came, Hal handled the case very quickly, was on top of the situation and got my husband in and out of court in minimal time. Hal required very little work on our part but was specific and concise about the few things he did need. We would highly recommend Hal to anyone in a similar situation looking for a very responsive, reliable lawyer.
02-02-2015
Google Review
Google Review
Dennis P.
I was faced with an unfortunate felony charge that the prosecution tried to throw me in jail for 6 to 8 years. This was a serious non-violent and a virtual crime (Internet). I interviewed five top criminal lawyers who all promised to work for me but gave me nothing to go on as they presented no plan to fight or even an understanding of next steps. Then I met Hal Garfinkel. He was not only different, he saved my life and my families.He refused to just except what the prosecutor who had her own personal believes and no care for the truth, just the punishment. Hal fought and stopped the prosecutor from trying to influence the judge with improper tactics and acquisitions that were unfounded with a goal to try and put me in jail.Hal listened and was honest with me. He also showed great care for me and my families well being. He understood that while I was responsible for my actions, it was not what the state tried to make it out to be and he fought. In the long run, Hal negotiated a deal that kept me out of jail and I received 24 months probation. The system is not always fair, so it is important to have a lawyer that has sat on both sides and understands how the system works. Hal Garfinkel is that attorney and without him I would be sitting somewhere else.
12-30-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Thomas C.
I work at a large law firm in Chicago and when I was charged with a Felony Aggravated Battery one of our attorneys highly recommended Hal Garfinkel. After meeting with Hal and seeing him in action, I understand why. From beginning to end Hal made me feel like I was receiving the best representation possible. His knowledge of the law and his contacts within the Cook County system were astonishing. He knew everyone in the system and he knew how to work within that system in order to get me the best possible result in my case. What was originally a Felony charge that carried a possible prison term, was negotiated to a misdemeanor probation by Hal's second-to-none legal prowess. His personal relationships with opposing counsel, his attentiveness to detail and his genuine concern that I receive the best outcome were a tremendous comfort to me throughout the case and I give him the highest marks for his work. If you have any case where you need top level representation at an affordable rate, Hal Garfinkel is the guy you want to call.
12-23-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Joshua F.
I was arrested and charged with Attempt First Degree Murder in Chicago about some gang shooting that I had nothing to do with. The Chicago Police Department was convinced that I was the shooter even though I told them I had nothing to do with it. My friend recommended Hal and me and my family met him in his office to discuss my bogus case. He told me not to worry about it and that he would take care of everything. My family trusted him and I did too. The State's Attorneys Office would not drop the charges. We had a bench trial at 26 and California and I was found not guilty. I later learned that if I had been found guilty, I was facing 26 years in the county. Trust me, if you are charged with a violent crime involving a gun, call Hal Garfinkel. He is a lawyer that cares and will fight for you. I am so glad I trusted my friend and hired Hal.
12-09-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Marcus H.
My son was charged with a very serious criminal sexual assault case. I spoke with a number of high profile criminal defense attorneys in Chicago but none of them impressed me. A very close friend of mine did some research which led me to attorney, Hal M. Garfinkel. From the moment I met Hal, I knew I found the right attorney. He worked non-stop for my son. He was aggressive, focused, and above all, he really cared. He advised our family to request a jury trial. While Hal made no promises, he did say, he would give it his all and do the very best job he could. My son was acquitted of all charges and today he is a college student with a bright future. Words cannot express how happy I am that I chose Hal M. Garfinkel. If you are facing serious criminal charges, trust me and contact attorney, Hal Garfinkel. He will fight for you and do everything possible to secure a victory.
12-03-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Matt N.
I received a ticket for unlawful passing of a school bus on Halloween. If convicted I would have faced a minimum mandatory license suspension of three months, possibly a year, and my insurance would have skyrocketed. When I called Hal he talked me through the law, explained my situation to me, and assured me that if I hired him I would not lose my license - and he stayed true to his word. Hal was always available to talk about my case and reassure me. He was professional, personable, his fee was reasonable, and he delivered exactly what he promised. My charge was negotiated down to a petty traffic offense, which will be off of my record after a period of court supervision. No suspension. No insurance spike. Hal saved me from a world of stress. If you need a criminal defense attorney, for whatever reason, call Hal Garfinkel. He'll treat you like family.
11-25-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Vach O.
I walked away from the court room as a free man,w/o any charges..just 120 h community work and case is dismissed .had a class Class A Misdemeanor 60 miles over speeding ticket,,there is no words to describe Hal ... i can say Terminator Thank you Hal for your time and for all work that you have done for me ...!!
11-19-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Michelle T.
In my line of work, having a DUI on your record is a serious problem and I was facing just that when I hired Hal Garfinkel. He may be unconventional at times but he works extremely hard for his clients and he knows the law EXTREMELY well. I was facing a serious DUI case with a BAC level of .197 in Cook County and facing paying serious fines, community service, and much more. Mr Garfinkel fought brilliantly to suppress the breathalyzer, the initial stop, and essentially made it so that all the evidence against me was dropped and there was no case. Mr Garfinkel is a great lawyer and I absolutely recommend him if you are facing any type of DUI issues. He will fight and win for you!
11-16-2014
Google Review
Google Review
James C.
Hal Garfinkel gave me a second chance at life and for that I am eternally grateful to him. In November of 2013, I was arrested and charged with a gun possession. Due to the hard work and intense work, he was able to get evidence suppressed, a rare feat in the state of IL. Hal is a dedicated and skillful attorney who will fight for his clients. Making mistakes happen in life and I am glad that I had Hal fighting for me a second chance. Thank you Hal.
11-16-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Burnard W.
Hal is a great attorney! I have hired him several times, and I have to say, he is a miracle worker. Hal is well connected and does exceptional work; so you can trust that you are in good hands if you hire him. My most recent case was a felony drug offense (3 counts of delivery), which ended up resulting in a slap on the wrist 410 probation. The judge wanted to bury me after several positive drops, but Hal was able to get the judge to keep me on 410 probation and out of jail. He is reasonable in his prices and he takes care of business. Once you experience his passion for law, aggressive cross examination tactics, and relationships with prosecutors and judges; you will understand what you paid for and realize it was money well spent. Criminal cases are very stressful, but all you have to do is trust him and you WILL be fine. I am forever grateful for Hals work. He helped me get my life back. Hal has been in this game for a long time and he knows whats up.
11-16-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Manda W.
Hal is an exceptional lawyer and I am very glad I chose him to represent me. He was very confident throughout the whole case, which kept me VERY stress free. I would strongly recommend Hal to anyone.
11-11-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Juan M.
I retained attorney Hal Garfinkel to represent me for a very serious narcotics offense. I was charged with a Super X narcotics case and I was facing 9-40 years in jail. I met with Hal and he put me to ease from the start. I did not have a lot of faith in attorneys but Hal came highly recommended and I trusted my friend. Hal fought hard for me from the beginning. He did not want to accept a plea agreement which included any time in prison. Thankfully, we won at trial and I owe my freedom and my life to Hal Garfinkel. If you find yourself in trouble and need to hire an experienced criminal lawyer, you would be wise if you call, attorney Hal Garfinkel.
08-16-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Ryan C.
Mr.Garfinkel is a wonderful,kind hearted man who is passionate about his work and sincere in helping his client's. With reasonable prices and his knowledge of the laws, you can expect exceptional results in any given situation. I recommend, if nothing else, give Mr.Garfinkel a call and you will know you've made the best choice! He is punctual and always responds to your questions no matter the time of day. In my situation of possession, he got the case dismissed, and for that I am forever grateful to Hal for getting me home to my fianc and family. Thanks again Hal and I wish you all the best in the future!
08-15-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Brandon O.
Hal Garfinkel is the real deal! I was referred to him from a close friend of mine (DUI case, actually two friends of mine (other was related to gun possession), and now I can clearly see why. He knows the system and how it works, is well-connected, knows when-and-how to do what, is very aggressive and efficient in court, and will execute the plan to a T. He will hold his end of the deal, so this is definitely the attorney you want representing you!
08-08-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Gekia H.
I must say that I am extremely happy with my services!! Mr. Garfinkel was very professional. He helped my husband to get no jail time. He always answered the phone when I called, he was available, punctual, and reliable. His prices are also very reasonable.
07-16-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Kate K.
Hal represented my husband against charges that he was falsely accused of. I was terrified that our entire future was about to go down the drain. When hiring Hal to take on our case he reassured us not to worry, that he had everything under control, and to trust that he would make it all go away. My husband and I were both skeptical that this was even a possibility but once we showed up to court everything Hal had promised he delivered. The charges were completely dropped. I owe my husband and I still having a bright future to Hal and his incredible representation! I am hoping that we will not need an attorney in the future but were we to find ourselves needing legal council I would trust Hal Garfinkel to handle any type of situation that came our way!
06-07-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Izzy B.
PITBULL OF THE COURTROOM!!! Confident, aggressive, charismatic, very intelligent Lawyer with quick, sharp responds that made prosecutors and police officers looks like lost, lonely kids in the middle of nowhere. During trial he fought with courage and passion! I'm satisfied and thankful for his help, effort and work he did for me.
05-27-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Marques C.
This past November of 2013 I was pulled over for speeding. I was in need of a great attorney and because of a great source they recommended I contact Hal Garfinkel. I have to say I was impressed from the start. Hal made me feel good about this process. He assured me that he would work very hard to make sure I kept my license and beat the charges against me. He was accessible any time I needed him and he was also genuinely interested in me and my life/career. I find that to be a good quality. Today was the trial date. The prosecution wanted us to take a deal and I highly contemplated it. Hal said I should think it over for myself, he reassured me that he was there for me in any direction I wanted to go, but that he would WIN. I said then let's go for it and he showed me why he is the BEST. Hal Garfinkel found holes in the prosecution's argument and in the trooper's report and testimony. Even after the DVD evidence was presented, Hal still won through his expertise and will not to lose. He crossed examined with a precise fierceness that I was happy to see. I walked away today with all charges dropped and a small fine which was way better than the alternative or the plea deal. Thank you Hal for your professionalism and your expertise. If anyone needs a great lawyer call Hal Garfinkel. Forever my first call lawyer.
05-22-2014
Google Review
Google Review
William R.
I was arrested for DUI and resisting arrest. Hal was unbelievable he knew the right questions to ask the prosecutor and the police officer and they could not answer. I was given NOT GUILTY on both charges. If you need a great lawyer contact Hal Garfinkel, I would recommend him to anyone facing criminal charges.
05-22-2014
Google Review
Google Review
R. R.
I needed representation in regards to a felony that I was being prosecuted for. I interviewed four high profile attorneys that all promised to be able to assist me in getting the best results. But none of them had a strategy or plan to present to me. I then met Hal Garfinkel. He was different (in a good way) from the moment I met him then any other attorney I interviewed. He did not judge and he discussed with me his plan and ideas. He was available when I needed him and he truly cared about me and my family regardless of the unfortunate situation that I had put myself in.The prosecutor requested that I serve 6- 10 years and even tried some underhanded ways to get this punishment. Mr. Garfinkel used his experience and abilities to get the state and judge to see the truth of the case and in turn fought for me and my rights. I received two years probation and had a class x moved down to a class 2.If I can give any advise to someone who needs a criminal attorney, shop around and do call Mr. Garfinkel. He will fight for you and will be honest and do everything he can for you.
05-13-2014
Google Review
Google Review
James W.
Hal is a passionate and aggressive criminal defense lawyer. I was arrested and charged with a Class X drug offense. The prosecutor offered me 15 years to plead guilty. Hal filed a Motion to Suppress and was successful in having all the drugs thrown out. I owe my life to you Hal. Thank you.
04-25-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Mike B.
I have known attorney Hal Garfinkel professionally and personally for over 20 years. He is an aggressive and passionate criminal lawyer. I highly endorse Hal, and if I or any family member needed the services of a criminal defense lawyer, I would hire Hal.
02-06-2014
Google Review
Google Review
David R.
Hal you're a miracle worker. I was looking at 9 to 40 years in prison. The police tried to make their case better by lying and Mr Garfinkel tore them apart. His preparation and professionalism were unmatched. I wasn't treated like a criminal, Hal treated me like his own child who got into trouble. I wish everyone was represented by an attorney the caliber of Hal. I can say for sure, if it wasn't for Hal I would be in prison today. I will always be grateful. Thank you.
01-14-2014
Google Review
Google Review
Ailin L.
Hal is flat out Unbelievable, in the best sense of that word, I was arrested for shoplifting at henri bendel's and Hal took care of everything and I did not have to worry about a Damn thing. I concur with everybody else that he is indeed Very much a saint and miracle worker -- the next time i get arrested again in Chicago I will Definitely know who to call.
12-23-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Patrick F.
Was accused of DUI even after I told the arresting officer I had one drink and that I've been up working all night. Decided to give Hal a call and glad I did! He not only proved in court that I wasn't intoxicated but also got the case dismissed! Mr. Garfinkel is a great attorney and I would highly recommend him to everyone and anyone!
11-02-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Brad S.
Hal Garfinkel LITERALLY saved my life! I was arrested for a non-probationable super class x felony carrying 12-40 years in the Illinois Dept of Corrections. Mr. Garfinkel fought EXTREMELY hard for me and was able to negotiate a probation deal which can be expunged off of my record and sealed. I completely expected to be sentenced to some sort of prison term, but because of Mr. Garfinkel's tenacity and determination, I was given my life back. THANK YOU HAL!
10-21-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Thomas R.
I was arrested and charged as a Class X offender of the offense of Possession with Intent Deliver Heroin. The Champaign County State's Attorney's Office offered me 9 years in prison to plead guilty. Hal filed a Motion to Suppress Evidence and was successful in getting all the narcotics thrown out. Consequently, the Champaign County State's Attorney's Office dismissed my case. Hal, I have no way to thank you for giving me my life back. You fought hard for me and I am so grateful.
10-12-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Pawel P.
Hal Garfinkel helped defeat the difficult charge of aggravated DUI. I faced up to 7 years in the penitentiary for my third drunk driving incident. Hal successfully defended my case for over 9 hours in court and I was found not guilty by the judge. I'd like to thank Hal for his skill and aggressive criminal defense in my time of need. I will appreciate what he's done for me for the rest of my life.
07-25-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Bogdan S.
HAL IS THE BEST! I was arrested for my 2nd DUI and Hall beat the summary suspension so I could keep my license. I spoke with 3 attorneys before I found Hal and everyone told me I'd lose my license. Hal is excellent and I would recommend him to anyone.
07-02-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Salman A.
Hal is an exceptional Attorney who advocates strongly for his client. He is relentless and determined to get results. I am an attorney myself and when push comes to shove, he is the first attorney I turn to and trust him completely. At times he will be unavailable but he is always working behind the scenes and has never let me down. I recommend his skills and ability without hesitation and no matter the result, you will be happy with his skills and abilities.
06-30-2013
Google Review
Google Review
A. G.
Hal Garfinkel is a fantastic criminal trial lawyer. His knowledge of criminal law is vast and he cares about his clients as people. Hal is in great demand and has a very busy practice, but he makes a huge effort to give each client personal attention and is available by phone day or night to his clients. Hal has a great reputation in the courthouse and is well-respected by judges and by his peers. I recommend Hal Garfinkel for all serious criminal matters.
06-26-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Greg W.
I have worked with quite a few attorneys over the years and I would recommend Hal Garfinkel for any state or federal criminal issue. Thanks Hal
06-05-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Greg W.
I have known Hal for many years, and I feel he is an honest and ethical attorney. I would recommend any person with a state or federal criminal issue to contact Hal Garfinkel. He handles all types of criminal issues such as, DUI, Mortgage Fraud, State and Federal Drug Crimes, Murder, White Collar Crimes. If you have a legal issue do not hesitate to contact Hal.
02-10-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Hal G.
Veteran Chicago criminal defense lawyer Hal M. Garfinkel is a former prosecutor with 20 years of experience. Past clients and opposing counsel in past criminal cases agree: Hal M. Garfinkel is the Chicago defense attorney you need to speak for your rights in state or federal criminal offenses. Serving clients throughout the United State on Federal criminal matters. Hal M. Garfinkel has a documented track record of success in a wide variety of criminal cases, such as:Traffic violations, DUI/DWI and driver's license reinstatement hearingsTheft and property crimesInternet crimesFederal white collar crimesIllinois drug charges and narcotics offensesWeapons chargesDomestic violenceSex offenses including child sex crimesHomicideMr. Garfinkel is available 24/7 to take your call, fax or e-mail. He can also schedule off-site consultations at police stations or jail houses to hear the details of your case.
02-03-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Tim W.
Hal Garfinkel was great, thank you for the great help. I would highly recommend him to anyone with a legal problem.
02-03-2013
Google Review
Google Review
Dan B.
Hal Garfinkel handled my case and he was professional, persistent and effective. I would be more than happy to refer him to anyone I know.
11-03-2012
Google Review
Google Review
Robin G.
I hired Hal M. Garfinkel to represent me for a Class X narcotics case before Judge Flemming at 2650 South California. I was facing 6-30 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections. Hal was tremendous. He fought hard for me and cross examined the police officers to the point that they could not even keep their stories straight. In the end, Judge Flemming acquitted me of all charges and I am a free man today. I owe my life to Hal.

225 WEST WASHINGTON STREET, SUITE 2200A, CHICAGO, IL 60606

PHONE: 312-270-0999

FAX: 312-924-0201